2011 Fall Conference


"Lyrical Poetry in German Songs and New AP Requirements"
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 28-29 October





Dear NCAATG colleagues,

It is my pleasure to welcome you all back to the campus of UNC-Chapel Hill on Friday, October 28, and Saturday, October 29, 2011. After all, five years have passed since our last meeting at UNC in the Fall of 2006.

The topics for this fall conference are twofold. One topic is “Lyrical Poetry and Classical Music in the Classroom” and the other one is “New AP Requirements in German”. As you can see, our program will be split between the “schönen Künste” spanning the curriculum at schools and universities, as well as the implications of new policy implementations at the high school level.

On Friday evening will begin with introductory remarks by Gabriel Trop, Assistant Professor of German at Carolina, on lyrical poetry in general and on the six Schubert songs in particular, which will be performed by Elizabeth Linnartz and David Heid.

On Saturday, we will gather for a workshop lead by Inge Walther, Associate Professor of the Practice of German and Associate Dean for Curriculum and Course Development at Duke University, on how to incorporate classical music and lyrical poetry into the German classroom.

We will also hear information about the new AP requirements from Beth Gulewich, President-Elect of NC-AATG and German teacher at Needham B. Broughton High School in Raleigh, and Lisa Worthington, Past NC-AATG President and German teacher at Northwest Guilford High School in Guilford.

We look forward to seeing you at Carolina.

Tin Wegel
NC-AATG President



To register for the 2011 NC-AATG Fall Conference, please download the registration form (pdf) and return it, along with a check made out to NCAATG, to the address below. Conference fees are $25s for Fr./Sa. or $15 for Saturday only. Full-time students and teachers in their first of second year of teaching may attend at half prize ($12.50 or $7.50, respectively.

Tin Wegel
502 W Poplar Ave, C-1
Carrboro, NC 27510

Checks should be made out to NCAATG and mailed by Monday, October 24, 2011.  




Download here

 Friday, 28 October

5:00 – 5:45 Arrival and check-in Toy Lounge in Dey Hall
5:50 – 6:45 Dinner and welcoming remarks (Wegel) Toy Lounge
7:30– 8:30 Introduction (Gabriel Trop) and Recital
(Elizabeth Linnartz and David Heid)
107 Hill Hall

Saturday, 29 October (All events will take place in Toy Lounge)

8:15 – 9:15 Breakfast and introduction (Wegel) Toy Lounge in Dey Hall
9:15 – 10:45 Workshop with Inge Walther  
10:45 – 11:00 Coffee break  
11:00 – 12:00 German Day planning and idea session
(Wegel, Howards)
12:00 – 1:00 Boxed Lunch  
1:00 – 3:00 New AP requirements (Burgbacher, Gulewich, Worthington)  
3:00 – 3:30 Kaffee und Kuchen  
3:30 – 4:00 Business Meeting (Wegel, Gulewich, Hood)  


Closing remarks (Wegel)  



Tin Wegel, UNC Chapel Hill
Beth Gulewich, Needham B. Broughton High School


   Map, Directions, and Lodging

All sessions, except the recital on Friday night, will take place in Toy Lounge on the fourth floor of Dey Hall on the UNC campus. Searchable map of the UNC Campus

Due to the Football game on Saturday, on campus parking will be limited. Municipal parking is available on Rosemary Street for $20/day. Additionally, the F bus and the Tarheel-Express will be running from the University Mall to Campus. Chapel Hill Transit Information

There are number of hotels in Chapel Hill and Durham whose rates are more competitive online or through major hotel booking websites such as hotels.com than the business rates quoted by them.

Hotels include:

Hampton Inn
Days Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
Courtyard in Chapel Hill
Carolina Inn
Aloft - Chapel Hill


Participants as of Tuesday, October 28, 2011 at 11am

Friday and Saturday:
Hans Gabriel
Beth Gulewich
Corinna Kahnke
Priscilla Layne
Petra Martignoni
Marilyn Metzler
Siegfried Mews (Friday only)
Sandra Niethardt
Elizabeth Schreiber-Byers
Christina Uden
Gabriele Verhoeven
Inge Walther
Tin Wegel
Brigitte Woloszyn
Melanie Wright

Saturday only:
Tina Boyer
Lindsey Brandt
Wendy Burgbacher
Stacy Feldstein
Susanne Gomoluch
Linda Horvath
Alyssa Howards
Molly Knight
Tres Lambert
David Lovin
Toby Mag
Susanne Rinner
Bradley Seawell
Tom Skinner
Kai Werbeck